City of Excellence Awards

Submit your 2014 entries now!

The League is now accepting entries for the 2014 City of Excellence Awards. Chief appointed and chief elected officials in every member city received an entry brochure in the mail. You may also download the brochure here. The deadline to enter is April 30.

About the award
Every day, city officials throughout Minnesota do outstanding work that promotes quality of life in our communities. The League of Minnesota Cities offers cities an opportunity each year to showcase that work through the annual City of Excellence Awards. The awards are designed to recognize accomplishments—large and small—that enhance the vitality and quality of life in Minnesota cities.

Winners are chosen in each of three general population categories. A single award will also be presented in the 2014 Topical Category, "Engaging Citizens in the Budget Process."

Each first place-winning city receives a cash prize of $1,000, a commemorative plaque, and special recognition at the LMC Annual Conference and Marketplace. Winning cities are also featured in League press releases and other statewide publicity efforts.

Past City of Excellence Award winners

Read about the C.C. Ludwig and Leadership Awards